Romanian Summer

Posted on

Blueberries.  Are you kidding me?  I heard rumor that there were some in Oradea, at the big outdoor market there.  Was planning on having a day with just me and the little man anyhow so we stopped by after seeing a movie.  Wild blueberries were everywhere.  The ladies selling them, out of the 10 gallon white buckets, had picked them in the mountains near Stana de Vale.  Their stained blue hands measured out in glass jars each 5 Lei portion.  I bargained for 4 jars at 4 lei each and 1 jar (not nearly full) for 3 lei.  Ahhh, it feels so good to beat the market vendors at their own game sometimes!

When I was a kid our family always made Flopsy, Mopsy and Cottontail Blueberry Cobbler.  I froze most of the berries to use for breakfast smoothies this month but Caleb and I used the rest to make the Cobbler.  It was sooooo good!  Unfortunately, my son has decided he does not like blueberries.  So much for passing on the family blueberry tradition/recipe.

On our way home from Oradea we saw so many stray sunflowers growing on the side of the road.  (The fields are in FULL bloom right now.  WOW!)  I pulled over and we grabbed a few of the random stalks here and there that had escaped from the neat rows of the fields.

One response »

  1. Hang onto that recipe Kels, he may warm up to them yet. Adam loved strawberries as a wee one, then went through a LONG phase of not liking them. Now he loves them again. So that recipe may yet have hand-me-down worth!

    Reply

Leave a comment