RSS Feed

We had no idea where you had gone!

Posted on

That’s what one of my neighbors told me today when, again today, I asked around trying to figure out how Caleb’s bike, and all of my plants (and plant stand) went missing while we were gone in the States.  

The thing is this, dear neighbors of mine, I told (most of you) repeatedly for A MONTH AHEAD OF TIME that Caleb and I would be leaving for FOUR MONTHS.  I don’t know how many times I told them, and the building administrator (who handles the monthly water/garbage fees for each apartment) knew as well.  Hmmm…I’m going to have to get a bit sneakier and channel my inner Sherlock to bypass these statements of not knowing where we had gone in order to find the missing bike and plants.  By the way, have any of you watched the BBC Sherlock?  Ummmm, the series is incredible.  What is not incredible is the fact that each season is only 3 episodes.   Need. more. now.  (especially after the cliff hanger of this season finale!)

So, I have 3 very awesome visitors this week from good ol’ Indiana.  Keeping them busy for sure in various projects here and around FCE.  Which, is a good reminder for me, too in how much work and effort goes into the lives of all of the children we work with each day.  Today was at the Day Center, Special Needs School, Babies at the hospital, shopping for our cooking day tomorrow and team meeting/worship.  But, I have been a good hostess, let me tell you, since I started off the morning with the beginning culinary experience of Marghita street food. Part 1, that is 🙂  Part 2 will commence tomorrow.  Of course, being the good hostess that I am, I also feel the need to eat the street food with them as well.  Ahhhh, placinta cu cartofi!

Starting last week I began sharing with some of the kids about the changes for Caleb and I coming up this summer.  (For those of you who don’t get my updates, let me know, and you’ll be filled in quickly.)  It is not easy.  “Please Kelsey, please take me with you.  Please, I promise it’ll be okay.  Can I go with you?  I just want to be near you, please Kelsey.  Please??”  I joke through their please to bring a smile to their faces.  But, once we have said goodbye, and I’m walking away, it’s just easier to cry.  I know the Lord is leading us away, and there is such joy and peace in that…it also means that He must do a work of immense trust in me for me to be able to walk away from being involved in these kids’ lives and trust that He will provide a good future for them.

One response »

  1. BBC Sherlock is amazing. The reason they do so little is that Benedict Cumberbatch and Martin Freeman are now international superstars. Martin Freeman will be Bilbo Baggins in the Hobbit.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

