RSS Feed

Advantages of Being Sick

Posted on

1. You can update the blog 2 days in a row.

2. You can clean your house like crazy.

3. You can bake to your heart’s desire.  Or rather, work with your son step by step on a cupcake recipe out of your Grandma’s really old cookbook 🙂

Image

4. You can search for *lost* passports in a frenzy only to discover they were in your son’s travel bag all along.

5. You can work on taxes.

6. You can book appointment to the visa to get the fancy Apostille on son’s passport.

7. You can get dusty printer up and working again.

8. You can get a head start on prep needed for school for the next few days.

9. You can fold and put away the 3 loads of clean laundry that have taken over half of your bed.

10. You can lovingly speak to your empty toilet roll and yogurt cup planters, hoping to coax the tomato seeds from last year’s unopened packets to not really hold to their expiration dates.

11.  You can think about the mayhem that tomorrow will hold as the 8 Martie (Women’s Day) preparations move into full swing.

12. You can finally finish Pride and Prejudice and wonder to yourself, were those 400 some odd pages really worth reading?  I don’t think I have ever read a book that moved more slowly.  Is the latest movie worth seeing?

13.  You can finally, after 2 weeks of begging, find your son’s favorite song on YouTube and let him listen to it, not once but twice.  It’s really popular in Romania right now and I have tried my best to not allow my educational background override his joy at “singing” this particular “song” literally all. day. long.  I kid you not.  He’s crazy about it.  I, on the other hand, am in no such way crazy about Shakira. HA!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pRpeEdMmmQ0

I didn’t sleep much last night and so morning was rough – uggghhh – had to stay in bed.  I called Caleb in and explained to him that he’d have to pull his own breakfast together this morning.  So proud of him that he did it all on his own with no complaining whatsoever.  Then he decided he wanted to read books – a lot of them.  When I ventured out he asked that I take a photo so “you can show everyone and they will think I’m sleeping here on the floor!”

Image

2 responses »

  1. Hey – give Shakira a break. She’s a good singer although her intellect perhaps leaves a lot to be desired:

    http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2012/02/14/shakira-attacked-by-sea-lion_n_1276784.html

    Silly girl.

    Glad that you are finding your feet and pleased to be back in Marghita. Praying for a speedy recovery for you….

    Reply
  2. I DEFINITELY don’t do all of that while I’m sick! My tasks involve sleeping…and clearing out my DVR! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

