RSS Feed

Court Date!!

Posted on

Just had to share with everyone…yesterday I had a huge ENCOURAGEMENT by receiving my notice to appear in court TOMORROW.  The notice was printed on Friday, delivered on Monday afternoon and is for Wednesday morning.  This truly is a miracle as, usually, the court notices are given for 3-4 weeks ahead of time.

I am just so – so thankful!

In other news…it’s been so sunny here!  I’ve already transplanted all of my tomato seedlings into my garden plots.  That took quite a long time to do.  The ground needed to be broken up again; it just took forever.  I’m excited though, these are 2 types of tomatoes from Sweden.  The Swedish tomato seeds seem to thrive here because there is more sun than what they are used to in their usual growing environment.  On the other hand, I have to water them a lot more because, again, they are used to much more rainfall than what we get here during the summer.

Caleb has passed out invitations to his 7th birthday party on Saturday.  He wants an “I Spy” party with a “Pool Party” cake (he found it in one of my cooking magazines.)  We’re trying to coincide the two ideas by having a water relay race and an I Spy treasure hunt outside.  Should be great!

I’ve spent over a week trying to find a new adapter for my computer.  First went to one store…after 15 minutes he finally said that “maybe” in 2 weeks he “might” get something in that could work for a Toshiba.  Next store in Marghita, “maybe” on Friday.  I showed up Saturday, they were closed.  Dang it.  Sunday I headed to Debrecen (in Hungary) only to find that EVERY flippin store in the entire city was closed for May 1st.  I knew it was a holiday but I thought for SURE at least 1 of the mega stores would be open to cash in on the fact that every other store was closed.  No one took the opportunity so I was stuck with a broken umbrella, sandals walking all over the city in the pouring rain.  Fun, I know 🙂  Went back to the 2nd Marghita store yesterday.  He didn’t get the adapter in on Friday anyhow.  Can get one for me definitely this Friday.  Although it’s annoying to not have an adapter I kind of like the fact that it’s not so easy to find a new one straight away.  Life just has a bit of slower pace sometimes here and I’m thankful for how that trickles into other areas life….even if that means that it takes forever to get a new adapter for my laptop.  Thankfully there is a couple on my team that also have a Toshiba laptop and so each day they let me come and charge mine up.  Doesn’t last for very long but enough for me to be able to quickly check e-mail etc…  Hopefully tomorrow, after the court stuff is finished, I’ll be able to scour some of the stores in the city and come home with an adapter.  Hopefully…:)

As of last week I am an official employee of the state orphanage.  Well, sort of.  I’m considered an employee but will receive no salary for being one.  Which, is fine with me, because that means my schedule can continue being what it is and I can continue doing the work there the way we have already agreed with the director.  If I was a salaried employee then I’d probably have to do formal shifts etc… and that wouldn’t work with my schedule and the other responsibilities that I have.

Finally, if you notice in the upper right hand corner of this blog you’ll see a “Finance” tab.  Please click on it if you have a few spare seconds!  Much appreciated!

Well, that’s the update for now…

2 responses »

  1. Carrie Henderly

    Great news Kelsey! You both are in our constant prayers. The fact that it is happening quickly proves that things happen in God’s timing, whether it takes longer than we would like or in this case with the unusual five days for a court date instead of the weeks it can sometimes take. Wonderful! Miss you guys Love Carrie and Steve

    Reply
  2. Hello,

    My name is Mira de Vos.
    I have been looking into going to Romania this Fall. I was hoping to volunteer with kids in a orphanage and was wondering if you could give me a little bit more information about it.

    Sorry that this comment isn’t about your blog, but I have been having a hard time getting information.

    If you wouldn’t mind e-mailing me, I would greatly appreciate it.

    Thank you in advance,
    Mira de Vos
    mira.devos@hotmail.com

    Reply

Leave a Reply

