RSS Feed

If I had 3 wishes…

to be used on books here would be the top two on my list right now.

1. Julia Child’s Mastering the Art of French Cooking

http://www.amazon.com/Mastering-Art-French-Cooking-Vol/dp/0375413405

and…

2. Peter Reinhart’s Mastering the Art of Extraordinary Bread

http://www.amazon.com/Bread-Bakers-Apprentice-Mastering-Extraordinary/dp/1580082688/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1295010688&sr=1-1

No, I don’t have a 3rd.  Just 2.  I know, so selfless am I…only using 2 wishes instead of 3 🙂

Someday I might own a little bakery or cafe or something.  I guess it’s kind of like my far, far away idea that I’d like to do.  Anyhow, I love to cook.  Love it.  I love figuring out how to make extremely complicated dishes and I love mastering foods when you don’t have access to all of the ingredients.  Therefore having to make the ingredients themselves or find substitutes.  And, even if I hate what I’ve decided to make, I HAVE to keep making it until I master it.  Then, I never make it again 🙂

It’s been a few months since I’ve really thrown myself into making something totally random.  It’s time for a new challenge.  I’ve decided on mozzarella cheese.  It’s going to be so much fun!!

In another food category I bought Alex and Caleb placinta cu cartofi for snack today.  There’s a newer lady who makes them and she uses way less oil to fry the stuffed bread than the other women in town.  Instead of pouring oil into the pan and then adding the dough, this woman brushes the dough with oil and then puts it into the pan.  Then she brushes the other side with oil.  The result is a-w-e-s-o-m-e-n-e-s-s.  And, because she uses fresh oil each time my stomach doesn’t explode 30 minutes after eating one.  Too much info for you?  Well, just being honest! 🙂

Oh, and in case you were wondering about Caleb’s “pose” below.  Well, it’s pretty much “THE” pose to be making at the moment.  If you’re Caleb, then this pose = super cool.  Didn’t you get the memo?

 

3 responses »

  1. Which book do you want more? I’m going to send you one as an early 30TH (!!!!!) birthday present! Probably won’t be for a few weeks or so, but you can assume it is coming. Just let me know which one would be the first choice.

    Love you!

    Reply
  2. You will MAKE mozzarella??? How on earth??

    Reply
  3. Making cheese is well beyond my thought process, let alone my abilities! But you go girl!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

