RSS Feed

i KNOW

Yes, I know,  I know, I know, I KNOW.  I have not “watered” my blog.  The blog flowers are all dead.  I’m not sure they’ll ever bloom again.  It’s the end of the road for my blog garden.

Or.  Maybe not?  Maybe there’s still some life out there?  Someone who hasn’t given up on my lack of blogging?  Someone who still checks this here blog once a month in the hopes that Kels will get her brain in gear and update it?  Anyone?

Helloooo out there?

Well, in the hopes that there IS – even just 1 – someone I’m going to do a quick update.

I’m sorry, really.  This blog is supposed to keep you all more in tune with life here in Marghita and yet I’ve been avoiding updating like it’s the plague.  Lame.  I know.  As in so much “I know” that I titled this post after it.

Life is crazy here in December.  It’s the busiest time of year for a foundation that serves those without families and those who live in miserable conditions.  We receive donations, given in such love, and then must wisely decide and distribute.  It’s an honor, and extremely time-consuming.  Almost every hour I have had, recently, without Caleb and Alex has been spent in our donation warehouse helping with what I just explained.  In addition, I’ve begun another course.  This one is called “New Testament 1.”  There was a confusion to my enrollment so I thought, first week of December, that I was not taking the course.  Of course I didn’t study.  Then I found out a week and a half later that I am, in fact, enrolled and, in fact, extremely behind already in the course.  And, let me tell you, this course is going to be a killer.  The amount of information in Unit 1 is equal to about 3 Units in the course I just finished, Old Testament 1.  Each evening I’ve been rushing to get Caleb and Alex in bed so that I can STUDY.  And yes, I want our home to look Christmasy.  I want to have time to focus on this season of Advent with the boys.  The state orphanage, too, has much going on this month.  We just finished 2 weeks of straight birthdays and tomorrow will be the BIG Christmas party for all of the children.  We’ll bring the kids over in groups of 12-15, for about an hour each, and celebrate Christmas with them all.   Starting a few days after Christmas a team from Scotland arrives and we’ll be busy with them doing a week long winter day camp of sorts with them in a large hall near the orphanage. Our foundation is hosting their annual Christmas party, for appx. 350 guests, this coming Wednesday.  The prep for this is quite a bit, as I’m sure you can imagine, and somehow I’ve gotten roped into singing – classically for it.  I haven’t sung like that in 6 years…sigh.  I hope it sounds half decent at least.  There are professional musicians coming for the entertainment and they will accompany me.  I’m nervous only because I know what I could do 6 years ago and I know what I’ll do on Wednesday will be far far FAR from that.  Seeing as how it is possibly our last Christmas here, I agreed to do it.  Caleb’s adoption process has been taking sharp turns this way and that.  Just yesterday I heard another piece of news regarding it.  Could be good or could mean just the same.  But, it’s exhausting.  You know?  I honestly don’t know how I’d get through this adoption process without Jesus.  Alex…whew, has it been a month with him.  I’ve begun incorporating some different therapy aspects into his day.  They have AMAZING results but he HATES doing them.  🙂  Last week it took him 3 or 3 1/2 hours of full out screaming, throwing his body around, convulsing on the ground, kicking, yelling before he calmed down enough to 5 minutes of “Strong Sitting.”  Not just 1 day did this happen, but 3.  The Strong Sitting has had a major effect on his day…really helps with some of his Autistic symptoms.  I’ve also begun doing a joint compression massage on Alex each night before bed.  It’s like a magic pill of sorts because this boy now SLEEPS in the morning, instead of waking up before the rooster making his own rooster noises!  Annnd, Sankta Lucia!  December 13th!  As usual we, most of the Swedes on my team plus a few of us, dressed up in the traditional garb and made our rounds through Marghita and the local elderly/disabled home about 20 minutes away singing the Swedish Lucia songs and some additional carols.

Needless to say – it’s been a busy, full month so far.  My Mom arrives on Christmas Day!  Sure hope I can get all of the mold bleached out before she arrives 🙂  Yes, it’s started again.  The mold bleaching fiasco in my apartment during winter months!

Me and “da boys” carried all of these boxes, full of Christmas shoeboxes, into our donation warehouse last night.  As we picked up each box we yelled the age group on the box, as well as how many boxes were inside.  Then Jenny made note of it.

“Woman : 13!, Girl 3-7 : 10!, Teenage Boy : 11!” – was all you heard shouting out for a good hour last night as we lugged these boxes as fast as possible out of the frigid temperatures into the slightly less than frigid warehouse 🙂

I’m surprised we could move our mouths to yell out which boxes we were taking in…sooooo cold last night!

4 responses »

  1. Were those Operation Christmas Child shoeboxes from Samaritan’s Purse?!

    Reply
  2. Keep blogging, Kels! There’s definitely people reading. 🙂 And I’m also wondering if those were OCC shoeboxes? We love participating in that ministry!

    Reply
  3. Oh Kelsey! You just have to blog! I love it. Not a big fan of this white one though, took me like three hours to read… Not really, but close! 😉 Love ya!

    Reply
  4. I’m still reading! Of course I slacked off a bit last month as December is crazy busy everywhere, but I’m here and I’m glad you’re still writing.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

