RSS Feed

Papers in!

Posted on

Dang it, feels pretty darn good.  Every single paper is now turned in to Child Protection for me to be approved as an adoptive parent.  Whew!  I didn’t know what to do on the drive home.  Laugh?  Scream?  Cry?

I had to choose one.  Cry.

It honestly was the only thing that I felt I could do.  The strain and stress of these past 2 1/2 weeks have been so much.  Once I turned in all of the papers, and knew I was done for 2 months now, it was such a relief.  Relief from that strain and stress.  My heart couldn’t do more than cry.  It felt good to cry.  Kind of was like me telling God how hard it had been for these weeks and how thankful I was that He led me through it and that, at least this step, it’s done now.

Can I tell you something that really was, for lack of better word, special to me today?  I was sitting there outside of the Child Protection’s social worker’s office with all of my papers.  On top was my Diploma from IU.  I had it on top because the social worker asked me to have it translated and brought next week.  She still accepted my file but just wanted the Diploma officially translated and notarized.  No big deal.  (My social worker, she rocks!, dropped it off this afternoon at the translation place and will pick it up and take it to Child Protection on Monday so I don’t have to make the trip again. )  Anyhow I’m sitting there looking at it and I notice the date…I just started crying.  May 10, 2003.  My little one’s birthday is exactly one year later.  I think on May 11th of 2003 I left for the short term trip, my first, to Romania.  Exactly one year before he was born God led me from IU, in some ways, to Romania and into a different calling for my life.  Just seeing that May 10th there – and remembering the significance of that time in my life in conjunction with my son’s birthday exactly a year later.  I just cried and cried.   It was a very special few minutes there outside of that woman’s office between the Lord and I.  He IS Faithful to what He has promised.

Good gracious, what is it going to be like when the adoption is completely over?  That’s going to be over 6 years of pent up “stuff.”  Watch out everyone for the emotional breakdown that that ending will bring on! (Ha ha ha.)

Alright, so just wanted to update you all on that.  Thank you for your continuous outpouring of love, support and encouragement!  And, most of all prayers.

I told my social worker today that the month of July will be a month of fasting – the end of that month will mean a trip to a very significant person in this entire process.  She laughed, the social worker that is.  Not in a mean way – kind of like in a – yup, this next step (that meeting) will require a lot of surrendering to God through prayer!

Oh, and on another side note.  I’m taking some classes this summer.  I know, was it a stupid decision?  How the heck is this all going to get done?  I have no idea.  Don’t ask me, alright?

Intro to the Bible and New Testament 1.  I’m SO EXCITED about the learning, no joke.  The exam format, though…yeah pretty much all essays.  Not so excited about that.  We’ll see how this all works out with Popesti camps, Caleb, Alex on weekends etc… Yikes!!  If I didn’t feel certain that God had carved out this summer to begin these studies I wouldn’t have gone for it.  Just wanted to clear that up 🙂

Almost 11pm.  I need to go to bed.  Man, I’m really moving past my normal old lady limit of 9:30pm tonight!

2 responses »

  1. Kelsey, I don’t really remember how I found your website, but I’ve been following you off and on for probably a year. I’m so excited for you to have reached this point in the process!

    I, too, am a missionary in Romania – in Targu Mures and would love to ask you a few questions in a less public forum. Would you be willing to give me your e-mail address?

    Can’t wait to hear that you’ve received all of your approvals and that Caleb is officially “yours” in the sight of God and the Romanian government!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

