RSS Feed

3 Little Pigs sing “Tra la la la la laaaaaaaaa??”

Posted on

So Caleb and I spent Easter Sunday at home.  I was SO SICK.  Oh my word.  I could barely crawl out of bed.  But, thankfully, from bed I was able to read the entire Easter story out of his kid’s Bible.  Then we headed to the kitchen table, which was a nice location for me to rest my head upon, and Caleb did a lot of Easter paintings.  It was cool actually.  We took white crayons and colored different Easter scenes first.  Then we painted over it.  A very cool effect.  I highly recommend doing this if you have kids!

Let me tell you, though.  I may have been sick in bed on Sunday and a good part of Monday.  But that doesn’t mean I haven’t had a few weeks of celebrating Jesus in really special ways.  Here are a few glimpses of the awesome blessings of the past few weeks!

1. Last summer someone took the lone spider plant I had outside my front door.  Everyone in Romania has plants growing out of control all through the apartment buildings.  I was doing my part by allowing one little spider plant to get it’s groove on at my door.  Then, it was gone.  Who the heck wanted to steal that lame little plant?  Honestly.  Well then I walk outside a month later and someone has given me the spider plant back PLUS an additional 4 plants.  One of these was a  green plant thing that looked like it was from the jungle or something and a few weeks ago I noticed some white balls growing on it.  I thought those would just sprout into new green leaves but they turned out to be BEAUTIFUL flowers.  And, the first one blossomed on EASTER MORNING.

2. On Saturday, the day before Easter, I received a huge blessing.  I have never in my life seen something so small yet so expensive!  Some of you know that I’ve been having massive problems with my eyes and can no longer wear contacts (and even wearing mascara has become a thing of the past).  I needed an extremely expensive bottle of eye drops to fix the problem.  Some friends from CA arrived late Friday night and on Saturday they handed me TWO BOTTLES of these eye drops.  At $100 / bottle you can only imagine how thankful I was for the woman who bought them for me…  Check out how tiny the bottle is next to this box of DayQuil!

3. The few days before Easter a very, very, very, very, very, very close friend of mine and Courtney’s, Shaunessy, came, for the first time ever, to Marghita.  Sigh.  There really were no words and still aren’t to describe those days together. EXTREME BLESSINGS!!   She was on her way back from Uganda and got a 3 day layover before her flight back to the States.  Caleb loved hanging out with her…here’s a fun one of her and him when we drove up to the Black Forrest one afternoon!

And, on a funny side note.  Shaunessy and I were hysterically laughing one night about something and I have to share it with you.  Caleb asked her to read the 3 Little Pigs before bed one night.  I have no idea who came up with this version of it but there’s a song in it.  So Shau was trying to sing her version of the song and then all of a sudden I heard her end it with “Tra la la la.”  What?  I started cracking up and asked her why the freak she ended the song with “Tra la la la.”  It’s written in the book, she said.  Since when do the 3 Little Pigs sing a song and end it with “Tra la la la?”  Since when do the 3 Little Pigs sing at all?  It was hilarious!

4. Today the weather turned warm.  Warm enough to be outside without a coat on.  It’s about time people!

5. Some great friends, who used to live here in Marghita, came for a week (just left this morning at 4am.)  Alex was so happy to be with them.  He is closer to Todd and Rocio than anyone else on this planet.  We celebrated Alex’s birthday with them and also had a fun day in Oradea together at this park that is so out of control huge.  They call it “The Children’s City.”  It was such a breath of fresh air to have them here, even if just for a short time.

6. We celebrated Alex’s 6th birthday in a very small party on his actual birthday a week ago Sunday.  The big party, as I mentioned, was when Todd and Rocio were here.  I don’t have photos from then so I’ll just post photos from the actual day breakfast celebration that he had with Caleb and I that morning.  I can’t believe that little, always giggling, little baby is 6 years old already.  He is a good 4 inches taller than Caleb and a few pounds heavier as well.  This boy is growing out of control.  Please, please continue to pray for Alex’s future.  He is just with Caleb and I on the weekends.  Some of you thought maybe he was with us all week?  Just wanted to clear that up…  Anyway though, I know the Lord has an amazing family for this little boy.  A family who will raise him up in God’s love and who will turn to the Lord for guidance and patience with the special needs that Alex has.  Please pray that this family would come soon!  Whether that is through adoptions opening up to other countries, or a Romanian family feeling called to this boy’s life!

So, there you have it.  The most unchronological listing of events that have made me smile over the past few weeks.  Deal with it, okay people?  I’m the most random and out of order person you know so why should the blog be any different?

2 responses »

  1. Of course the 3 Little Pigs sang! We’ll have to skype sometime so I can make sure Caleb has the right tune!!
    L.

    Reply
  2. Thanks for the update and the cute photos of Alex and Caleb. Hope you are feeling better.
    Any more recent news on the adoption?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

