RSS Feed

My Romanian Life

…Sometimes involves situations that can be quite funny.  One situation that can happen almost on a regular basis happened, yet again, today.  The reason why I’m sharing it with you all is because although it can be a bit “rusine” (embarrassing) to confront the situation so often, or talk about it in general, it really is funny.  So, I’m not married.  That’s not the funny part.  The funny part is how the most random people in town try to hook me up with the most random people they know.  See, I’m a “catch” here.  I’m a foreigner who is CHOOSING to live here in Marghita.  For them that means money and a ticket “out of here.”  Or, so they think. Ha!  My neighbor down the steps in apartment #4 has finally stopped trying to convince me to let her start bringing boys around for me to meet.  I think she is more excited about being part of a wedding than actually who I’m marrying.  Sigh.  She is just one example of what people say or try to do for me in light of “my situation” 🙂  On to today.  Today my heating system was leaking hot water.  I called the man who fixes it and he arrived right on Romanian  time for his 2pm appointment, at 2:30pm.  I was surprised he even showed up at all today since it is quite common that appointments are usually pushed to a day or so after.  Thankful he did though!  I don’t know this man and have only met him once before, when he fixed my heating system last spring.  He walked through the door followed by a guy around my age and immediately the older guy says “See, I brought a young man with me today!”

Here we go..again…

It’s been one of those days so I didn’t say anything back but just showed him the problem and explained when it started etc…  I didn’t even look at the younger guy for the sole purpose of the older man to not have anything to say.  It didn’t stop him, though.  Every few sentences he would turn to the younger guy, speak in Hungarian then turn and smile at me.  Ay yai yai.  Then came the questions about Caleb – again – and – again – he started speaking in Hungarian to the  younger guy.  After a bit of this he turned to me and said “See, we’re speaking in Hungarian so that you can’t understand what we are saying!”

He stopped then.  It was too good to be true, I thought, no more comments?

It WAS too good to be true.  He was saving his final ammo of the afternoon on the way out.

As I walked them to the door he turns to me and says “Don’t you like this young guy?  C’mon, don’t you like him?  _________ , what do you think of her?”  Thankfully the younger guy didn’t answer and I shut the door.

It makes me laugh a bit.  Honestly?  You were in my apartment for 10 minutes and  you want to know if I like him or not?  Do I even know you – or him?  No. No. No.

Anyway, this blog is to give you glimpses into my life so I thought I’d give you a glimpse that would make you smile today! 🙂

One response »

  1. So proud of you and missing you! Love, Mom

    Reply

Leave a Reply

