RSS Feed

Ice Ice Baby

So in our little dear old town of Marghita there has been progress in regards to snow care since I arrived  in 2004.  They will, almost consistently now, put down grit when it’s snowy or icy on the main 2 roads through town.  Side streets and side walks are forgotten but at least the main roads are less accident prone!  When it begins to snow you’ll see the women start emerging through their gates with huge brooms in their hands and sweep away the snow to clear their area of sidewalk.  You’ll rarely see shovels, just brooms mostly.  I’ve been trying to do this in front of our team’s house, as it is forgotten amongst busy schedules.  Twice this week I was able to take the broom to work on the snow on the sidewalk outside of the house.  Pretty good workout in addition making our little area of sidewalk a bit safer for those walking!  Because the sidewalks stay so covered in snow and ice you’ll see parents pulling their children on sleds as they head to school in the morning.  (Everyone walks to school.)  Brooms, sleds…it slows the pace down and I love the difference when compared to snow life in the States.

The problem is that when it rains on ice and packed down snow – it becomes absolutely dangerous.  Try walking your 5 year old to school on hills that are literally a wet ice skating rink.  I can’t even tell you the number of times that Caleb and I have both fallen in just trying to get him to school in the mornings.  This morning it was just that.  Raining on ice and snow.  A team mate called me just before 7 am, knowing we would leave in a little over an hour to head to church, saying that the roads and sidewalks were so slippery….she was sliding on her walk to work while watching cars slide their way down the street.  So, we had to miss out on going to Oradea for church again (Caleb was sick last week.)  We sure as heck didn’t miss out on church though – that’s for sure!  Dani, Anton, Caleb, Alex and I did church at the kitchen table and living room floor this morning and they loved it.  (So did I!)  It reminded me of just how important it is to keep the boys in different corporate worship settings.  I want them, as they grow, to feel just as at home meeting God in someone’s living room as they do in a huge building with a rock band.  So, can I say I’m kind of glad we couldn’t go today?  Alright, I’m just going to say it.  I’m kind of glad we couldn’t make it to the city today…

This week the kids have vacation from school…again… SERIOUSLY.  Romanians have vacations and holidays from school all year round.  I’m not sure how they get away with it!  So, it’s going to be a bit different this week.  I won’t be going to the orphanage at all but rather will be working some additional shifts at the boys’ house.  And, on Friday night, I’ll be working with a group of people on the worship portion for the teen night at our Club.  Very cool!

I posted a new recipe under the “Cooking for 30”, Lemon Chicken.  Check it out – try it out…it’s REALLY good (and okay calorie/health wise as well!)

Off to the bath…that’s right, I am taking a bath tonight.  I never take baths.  But see, I feel like I’ve earned the right to spend the money on the amount of hot water that it takes to fill up the tub.  I started an exercise bootcamp (online) on the 4th of January and it involved working out SEVEN DAYS A WEEK ALL MONTH.  I can’t believe I’m saying this but I actually, other than 1 day, did the entire month of workouts and fitness challenges.  And, I’m freakin’ tired now.  I’m going to go and take a bath now as a reward.  (Hey, no making fun of me!)

Alrighty, signing off now!

2 responses »

  1. Hi friend…

    Liked this post. Made me smile…very you 🙂 Did you know we’re coming to visit? Can’t wait to see you and everybody! Maybe we should make sandwiches?!

    miss you 🙂 xxx

    Reply
  2. Hey Kels,
    I am one of the Cracked Pots from E.C.C. I have had this site for a few weeks but am just getting around to checking up on you. How much snow do you get when you get snow? TV said we were supposed to get 4 to 8 inches so snow but so far today we have only gotten rain with a few flakes thrown in here and there. How long does it take for mail to get to you from the states? If it doesn’t take too long I had something I thought you and Caleb might be able to use. Caleb sounds like a really great kid. You are in our prayers here at the Neff house. Hope you all have a blessed day.

    ybic,
    John and Diana

    Reply

Leave a Reply

