RSS Feed

Heck yeah, I’ve mastered the Bagel!!

It feels GOOD, dang it.  Yeah, I”ll admit it.  I can kind of get a little, cough, “proud” when it comes to cooking.  Or actually, let me put it this way.  I find something from the States I miss.  I find out how to make it.  If there are ingredients missing that I can’t get in Romania then I google how to make a substitute for that ingredient.  Hard Core, pretty much. (For some reason I heard Napolean Dynamite’s voice/attitude in my head when I typed that previous sentence…)  Then, I go to work trying to perfect it.  Last year I began on the bagel.  My friend, Katy, makes them and sent me her recipe.  I tried hers, along with a slew of everyone else’s that I found online, every Friday night for about 2 months.  I invited various people over on the Saturdays to help me eat them 🙂

I would say that my succes from last year’s “I miss this from the States” obsession was about 70%.  I was happy to leave it at that.

But then, someone came to the team.  He started making bagels on his team cooking day.  And, arrrrggghh, they were BETTER than my two months of practice last year!  He left and I thought I wouldn’t have to worry about it.  But then, he started dating my close friend, Courtney, and decided to move to Marghita.  And, what did he do last week on his team cooking day?  That’s right, he made bagels.  They were really good. 

That did it.  I needed to perfect the bagel.  No Swedish guy was going to take me down in a U.S.A. bagel baking show off.  Heck no!  Doesn’t matter if he’s dating my friend or not.  I couldn’t let it happen.  Plus, my friend wouldn’t mind since she gets to taste from his side and mine.  Works out well for her!

After 3 1/2 hours (starting last night and finishing this morning) I DID IT!  No one even needs to try them because I already know…I have perfected my bagel making skills.  Believe me, I don’t boast about things.  Ask my friends.  I don’t.  So, if I DO boast about something then you can be pretty sure that I know what I’m talking about.

I told Courtney’s boyfriend this morning that I had beat him.  He told me that if I was using his last bagel making time as his entry then it didn’t count.  Apparently he was “disappointed” with how they turned out last week.  Arrrggghh.  Well, despite that, I’m not sure he can conquer what my 3 1/2 hours of bagel slave labor produced : 16 beautiful gems : )

Take a look.  Sorry you can’t take a bite.  Next up on the bagel list : The Panera bagel toppings!!  And, yeah, the picture is poor quality.  I only got 1 shot before my battery died. 

One response »

  1. kels, those look so good. i want to eat one, but i am not there . . . i am here. send me your recipe? though i’m sure a kelsey-made bagel would taste better, i’ve never tried to make bagels before, and it sounds fun. glad you’ve had some bagel-making fun. ideas as to what your next food-item-to-perfect will be?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

