RSS Feed

Rain.

Posted on

Our beloved Father, please come down and meet us
We are waiting for Your touch
Open up the heavens, shower down your presence
We respond to Your great love

We won’t be satisfied with anything ordinary,
We won’t be satisfied at all

Open up the sky, fall down like rain
We don’t want blessings, We want You
Open up the sky, fall down like fire
We don’t want anything but You

Our beloved Jesus, we just wanna see You
In the glory of Your light.
Earthly things don’t matter, They just fade and shatter
When we’re touched by love divine.

We won’t be satisfied with anything ordinary
We won’t be satisfied at all

Open up the sky, fall down like rain
We don’t want blessings, we want You
Open up the sky, fall down like fire
We don’t want anything but You

Here we go, let’s go to the throne
The place that we belong, right into His arms

It started storming yesterday, I mean really storming.  To date, I have never experienced a storm in Romania like this in the 5 years I’ve been here.  Standing water remained on my indoor balcony through today and the early evening brought more rain.  I believe it’s still continuing it now.  The lyrics above have been on my heart for some months now.  But yesterday they just…oh gosh, I couldn’t stop singing them.  It’s been so long without rain here and the temperatures…almost 100 F for 2 weeks now daily.  (Bara, my dear friend, I think Jesus wanted me to be in your life for this time…how you do heat even higher than 100F everyday!)  So, when the storm came in, literally, a torrential downpour with wind out of control and hail beating down…  The words of this song just burst out of my heart to my Savior.  “We don’t want blessings, we want You.”  *sigh*

Literally as the storm began we were just about to begin Florin’s 18th birthday party.  He lives in the transit home, run by FCE, here in town.  Transit homes are ‘transitional’ homes from the state orphanage to family living.   In Romania the 18th birthday party is the BIG birthday.  Needless to say he was pretty bummed out that his party ended up, at first, being lame because the rain messed up the outdoor party plan.  We tried our best to celebrate anyhow and later that night, once the rain stopped, they had another party for him to which tons of people came.  Apparently it rocked and was what he had hoped his 18th would be! 

I’ve been working morning shifts about 4 days each week now at CasaAlba.  My Mom is here right now so it’s been really nice to not have to rush Caleb out the door to make it to work early.  I run out and Mom and him read books, do puzzles and “school”, then we meet up later.  I’m very thankful!  Let’s see, what else.  Oh, my Swedish tomatoes have finally started to ripen.  The plants are massive and taller than I am which, is something we don’t really have back in the good ol’ midwest.  I guess the Viking genes passed on even to their tomato plants.  (I know, bad joke, sorry.)  Gardening is something I definitely love to do…just wish there was more time for it!  Once the various pepper plants have ripened it’s going to be Salsa – Salsa – Salsa for my team.  I, personally, am quite excited about this!

This morning at work a few things happened.

1. I found out that my schedule had been switched around yesterday and I wasn’t notified…arrgghhh.

2. That I am allowed to do a CA camp as long as I find a different location from where we went last year…yyaayy!

3. Friday morning at 11am, as in THIS Friday morning at 11am, we will have the good-bye party(ies) for all of the CA children who have left to families over the past few months.  Which means, the following.

A. Court and I need to get the super fancy Romanian cake ordered, and rest of food bought and pulled together.  We are also needing to get decorations sorted.

B. I need to make sure that each childs’ life book (their book of pictures through their time at CA) is done and ready to be presented at the party.

C. The CD that I have promised for 2 years now to make to “give to each kid as they leave” needs to be done before tomorrow afternoon.  Huh.  That’s interesting.  Have I ever done a CD before, yeah, that’s a NO.  I mean, singing a recital and having someone record that doesn’t count – that is loads easier than what my friend and I have been trying to pull together tonight so far.  Uggghhh.  It’s my fault, it really is.  I told the Lord, my mission’s org and my church 2 years ago that I would get this CD done within “the next year.”  Never happened.  I kept telling myself that I wanted to get another couple of songs written so that the CD would have ‘more’ or whatever.  I think, too, I’m really nervous about people other than the kids hearing it.  That scared the crap out of me.  God put these songs on my heart for these kids to praise Him…not fancy, not the most creative chords or keys…the songs are like their spiritual journeys through their time at CasaAlba.  When each song was written it seemed to fit into their hearts in a way that the local churches weren’t…I want the kids to know who Jesus is and what they mean to Him…and what they means for their lives.  So, not good, but I’ve put it off for far too long.  But now, I can’t, I set a deadline for the goodbye party.  Only thing is that I thought that party would be in 2 weeks not TWO DAYS.  The kids coming on Friday, I won’t see many of them ever again.  I have to be able to get them these songs by then.  Thankfully I was told that my good friend has some recording stuff on her computer, and thankfully, she’s here for a month.  So we went to work tonight and decided 2 things. 

1. We’ll only put 4 songs on this thing.

2. We will not, under any circumstance, play anymore around with instruments or loops or ________.  It’s going to just be guitar and kels/kids singing.  Very rough, but the least amount of stress.  Plus, you know, as we worked through more options I got to thinking.  These kids know these songs by me and my guitar – not with coolinstrumentation and stuff, you know?  So, I think giving the kids the songs in the format that they came to know them in…that’s good.  We’re done now for the night b/c we’re both too tired to do anything productive…except make up random songs and sing them to each other.  Which, is fun but not so much exactly what we ‘should’ be doing…

And, I’ll get to see Mihaion Friday at the party… and actually get to say goodbye and pray with him, hopefully!  I started crying thinking about it, and am now as well.  I didn’t get to say goodbye to him when he left some time ago.  My friend came home from shift and said “Mihai left today.”  I lost it.  What?  What do you mean, Mihai left?  I can’t wait to squeeze everything out of him in the biggest hug ever.  Oh gosh, the plans God has for that child…

Please keep Alex and Nicoleta on your hearts, especially Friday morning.  The Spirit has put such urgency on my heart to lift these two up to their Father this week…  My heart aches for them as they will now, officially, say goodbye on Friday to almost all of the CA children.  Alex, more than Nicoleta even, will feel the hurt of this as he came to CA as a 3 month old baby and is now approaching 5 1/2 years old.  Those that have left have been his family thus far and to see them again, yet know that they will leave only a few hours later…  Oh Alex, Jesus loves you so much little buddy!  Please join me in prayer as you remember…

I know it’s late and when it’s late I tend to say more than I should.  I think this will end up being a more boring post than usual…sorry everyone.  I’ll end with a picture of my precious son with ice cream…why?…because he’s just so dang cute!  Hey, for 50 cents you can’t really say no to buying a cone.  I mean, do you see those beautiful brown eyes he has??  (The ‘glare photo’ is b/c he didn’t want me to keep taking pictures of him…so fun!)

One response »

  1. How fun! I will trade you your busy week for my 4 blood draws in 3.5 hours on saturday, deal? Also if you could send mom home so she could be with me for that, that’d be great, thanks.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

